Stefan Muthesius, Honorary Professor


Stefan Muthesius is a specialist in the 18th to 20th century history of architecture, urban design, and applied arts and design. He taught at UEA from 1968 until his retirement and is an Honorary Professor in the School. He studied at the universities Munich, London (Courtauld Institute of Art), and Marburg, where he received his doctorate.

Among his many publications, The English Terraced House (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1982) won the Sir Banister Fletcher Prize, for which his most recent book The Poetic Home: Designing the 19th-century Interior (London: Thames & Hudson, 2009) was also shortlisted. His book Tower Block: Modern Public Housing in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland (New Haven: Yale University Press 1994), written with Miles Glendinning, won the Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion of the Society of Architectural Historians in 1995. Prof. Muthesius is also the co-author, with Peter Dormer, of Concrete and Open Skies: Architecture at the University of East Anglia 1962-2000 (London: Unicorn Press, 2001), a study of the UEA campus.


John Onians, Emeritus Professor


John Onians taught at the University of East Anglia from 1971 to 2007 after study at the University of Cambridge and at the Courtauld and Warburg Institutes, London. His interests range from the close analysis of Italian Renaissance Architecture and Greek and Roman Art to experimentation with broad approaches to art as a worldwide phenomenon, such as art geography. Most recently he has explored the use of neuroscience for the study of art-related behaviours, pioneering neuroarthistory, neuroarchaeology, neuroanthropology and neuromuseology. His books include Bearers of Meaning. The Classical Orders in Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (1988), Classical Art and the Cultures of Greece and Rome (1999) and Neuroarthistory: From Aristotle and Pliny to Baxandall and Zeki (2007). He was founding editor of the journal Art History (1978-88) and he edited the first Atlas of World Art (2004).